All you need to know about the world test championship and how it works?

All you need to know about the world test championship and how it works?

world test championship team members

Image source – Hindustan

World Test Championship Schedule And Format

Modelled on the several T-20 leagues played around the World, this tournament will look to breathe life to a format widely touted as dying. The ICC Test Championship will add importance to every test match played between 2019 and 2021, dead rubbers included. 9 teams will face off in 27 series. All 9 teams will not play against each other, the teams can decide their opponents but will have to play both home and away. Each series must have a minimum of 2 and a maximum of 5 test matches between the contesting nations.

Each series will hold 120 points in balance and is divided according to the number of matches in the series. If the series is a two-match series, the points are divided as 60 for a win, 20 for a draw and 30 for a tie. Similarly for a five-match series, the points are divided as 24 for a win, 8 for a draw and 12 for a tie. The top 2 teams at the end of the cycle face off in a final from June 10-14, 2021. If the final ends as a draw, the trophy is shared. Some new rules made for the tournament are:-

  • For slow over rates, two points will be deducted for every over behind schedule.
  • If a match is abandoned, it ends as a draw. However, if the pitch or outfield is deemed unfit, the home team will be penalised and the away team will get full points.
  • Concussion substitutes can act as a like-for-like replacement if a player is medically certified to be suffering with a concussion. The match referee has to approve the replacement and the player suffering from concussion cannot take any further part in the match.
  • Players will wear their name and number on the back of their jerseys.
  • DRS is mandatory for all matches.

The teams participating in world test championship are:






New Zealand

South Africa

Sri Lanka

West Indies

As of the time of writing, world test championship schedule are:

  • England vs Australia (5 tests)
  • Sri Lanka vs New Zealand (2 tests)
  • West Indies vs India (2 tests)
  • India vs South Africa (3 tests)
  • Pakistan vs Sri Lanka (2 tests)
  • Australia vs Pakistan (2 tests)
  • India vs Bangladesh (2 tests)
  • Australia vs New Zealand (3 tests)
  • South Africa vs England (4 tests)
  • Pakistan vs Bangladesh (2 tests)
  • Bangladesh vs Australia (2 tests)
  • New Zealand vs India (2 tests)
  • Sri Lanka vs England (3 tests)
  • England vs West Indies (3 tests)
  • England vs Pakistan (3 tests)
  • Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh (2 tests)
  • West Indies vs South Africa (2 tests)
  • Bangladesh vs New Zealand (2 tests)
  • Australia vs India (4 tests)
  • New Zealand vs West Indies (3 tests)
  • New Zealand vs Pakistan (2 tests)
  • Bangladesh vs West Indies (3 tests)
  • India vs England (5 tests)
  • Pakistan vs South Africa (2 tests)
  • South Africa vs Sri Lanka (2 tests)
  • South Africa vs Australia (3 tests)
  • West Indies vs Sri Lanka (2 tests)

See also : The Injuries Suffered By World Cup Teams And Its Impact

See Also : The Heavyweight Clash England vs Australia Preview

Also published on Medium.

No Comments