IPL Finals: MI & CSK Journey Through The Previous IPL Finals

After defeating Chennai Super Kings with ease in the first qualifiers, Mumbai Indians became the first team to enter the IPL finals. Rohit Sharma’s men had topped the table in the group stages, after winning nine matches of 14 in the IPL 2019. While the second places CSK and the third-placed DC had the same point to their credits as the table toppers MI, but a better run rate helped them conquer the table in the IPL 2019.

Till date, Mumbai Indians have been a contender in four IPL finals since the commencement of the league in 2008. Out of those four finals, they have managed to win three of the matches, which helped them live the IPL trophy three times. Mumbai now has the chance to become the most successful team in IPL history and claim the title for the fourth time.

They are now ready to take on CSK, who emerged victorious in the second eliminator after defeating DC and reaching to the finals. As the stage is all set for the Mumbai, and Chennai to fight it out, we take a look at their journey through the previous Indian Premier League Finals.

IPL final

The year 2010 (Runners-up):

Sachin Tendulkar led his team to their first ever IPL final in 2010. They had mangled to top the group stages, by winning 10 matches out of 14. In the semis, they managed to win over the Royal Challengers Bangalore, but eventually lost the title to CSK in the finals by just 22 runs.

The year 2013 (Champions):

IPL 2013, saw the captaincy of both Ricky Ponting and Rohit Sharma in the Mumbai Indians. After a few defeats, Ponting handed the captaincy to Rohit Sharma who helped Mumbai be the second in the league standing, by winning 11 matches out of 16. Mumbai had lost the first qualifiers against Chennai, but manage to defeat Rajasthan Royals in the second eliminator to qualify for the finals. They defeated CSK by 23 runs and managed to bag their first IPL title win.

The year 2015 (Champions):

This time Ponting took on the role of the head coach, with Sharma becoming a full-time captain. This time Mumbai managed to defeat CSK in the first qualifiers itself and went straight to the finals. A win by CSK in the second eliminator saw MI once again facing off against CSK. However, this time a huge total of 202, ensured an easy victory for the Mumbai boy.

IPL final

The year 2017 (Champions):  

This year the Rohit Sharma led team finished on top of the leader board by winning 10 matches out of 14. This time they were crushed by the Rising Pune Supergiants in the qualifier 1 but did eventually reach the finals after wiping out KKR in the second eliminator. Mumbai once again met Pune, but this time the match became an edge of the seat clincher, that sat Mumbai Indians snagging a win on the last ball of the title. 10 wins in 14 matches saw Rohit Sharma’s side finish top in the league stage with 20 points.

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) have already scripted history by being the first team to reach their eighth IPL final. They beat Delhi Capitals by six wickets in IPL 2019 to reach the finals in Hyderabad. No other team in the Indian Premier League History has managed to reach so many finals, with Mumbai only coming second by a high margin. SK is now set on to take Mumbai Indians in the IPL 2019 finals, which will be their fourth meeting in the finals of IPL. While CSK had made it to seven finals before the eighth of IPL 2019, this Dhoni-led team has only won three out of those seven.

IPL final

Here is an account of how CSK have fared in each of their IPL finals:

2008: CSK vs Rajasthan Royals, Mumbai

This was the first team IPL was launched by Lalit Modi. CSK was touted as the favourites who were pitched against the Shane Warne led Rajasthan Royals. But, the narrative took a turn, as is the norm with the Indian Premier League, when Yusuf Pathan took three sick wickets to restrict the Dhoni-led the side to just 163. He then went on to make 56 in a great batting performance for the Royals, which helped them to pick the first ever IPL trophy, which has also been the last till now for the Royals.

2010: CSK vs Mumbai Indians, Mumbai

Raina was in exceptional form in the IPL 2010. Because of his batting powers, CSK managed to put up a defendable total of 168, which later proved to be enough. Mumbai batsmen; except Sachin who scored 48 runs; faltered. This helped CSK snag a 22 run victory over the Blue Brigade and they lifted their first IPL trophy.

2011: CSK vs Royal Challengers Bangalore, Chennai

After IPL 2010, CSK entered the next season still high on their win. They were the favourites and they were certainly in it to defend their title. This time in the finals CSK posted a huge score of 205, thanks to the efforts of Murali Vijay and Michael Hussey. The total was too much for the Daniel Vettori led RCB to chase. CSK won by a high 58 run margin and claimed their second IPL trophy.

2012: CSK vs Kolkata Knight Riders, Chennai

This finale of IPL 2012, saw another one of Raina’s class batting. He propelled CSK to a great total of 190, after scoring 73 off only 38 balls. But, KKR was not the one to back down. They were already on a roll in the season and managed to finish the chase with two balls to spare. Manvinder Bisla and Jacques Kallis robbed CSK of their third consecutive win and KKR triumphs after a long wait.

2013: CSK vs Mumbai Indians, Kolkata

In a Karma-like battle, Mumbai Indians successfully drafted CSK, by winning by 23 runs, which was almost identical to the way Mumbai Indians had lost to CSK in the 2010 IPL final. Pollard catapulted Mumbai Indians to a defendable total after 148, almost by himself, after his West Indian compatriot Bravo had rocked the Mumbai batting by claiming four wickets. But Mumbai defended the total, as the survived the late onslaught of MS Dhoni.

IPL final

2015: CSK vs Mumbai Indians, Kolkata

One again CSK met Mumbai Indians, but this time Mumbai had everything in their control. The posted an amazing total of 202, with Rohit Sharma scoring 50 of 26 balls. CSK couldn’t change down this huge target and lost by a landslide. Dhoni’s men could only push to get 161, and Mumbai lifted their third trophy in the IPL.

2018: CSK vs Sunrisers Hyderabad, Mumbai

2018 saw CSK coming back to the IPL platform after being suspended for two years, in regards of the match-fixing allegations. After coming back CSK had a lot to prove. This time CSK took on SRH, and the formidable team posted a great total of 178, thanks to the mavericks of Yusuf Pathan. Yet, the total seemed like mere chump change, when CSK’s ace batsman Watson took the centre stage and knocked a 51 ball century.

CSK managed to prove themselves yet again and snatched a comfortable victory with nine balls to spare. CSK has been the only team to defend the title, so now we must wait and see whether CSK defends they title and wins their fourth IPL, or does Mumbai Indians prove to be the better team and with their fourth title.

IPL final

Read More : How is Indian Team Performed In IPL 2019.

This madness of the IPL 2019 final will unfold on 12th May, and the world will watch with the bated breath, which of the two teams bag their fourth IPL crown.



Also published on Medium.

Myths explaination of Yoga

Next Article

Top 10 Myths Explaination Of Yoga

No Comments